News around the Department


New Opportunities

Congratulations to Dr. Ikuo Tsunoda, who has been appointed Professor and Department Head of the Department of Microbiology at Kinki University in Osaka, Japan. We regret his departure, but are pleased that Dr. Tsunoda's accomplishments have been recognized and wish him every success.


Congratulations to Drs. Fumitaka Sato and Seiichi Omura who have obtained faculty positions as Assistant Professors in the Department of Microbiology at Kinki University in Osaka, Japan.



Congratulations to Dr. Aaron Navratil who has successfully defended his doctoral dissertation and is now the newest Ph.D. graduate of the department

Grants and Awards:

A 5-year Phase III NIH COBRE Center grant of more than $4.82 million was awarded to Dr. Dennis J. O’Callaghan, Boyd Professor and Head of the Department of Microbiology and Immunology to support the Center for Molecular and Tumor Virology. This Phase III award brings the total NIH support for the Center to more than $22.9 million since 2003.  During the Phase III period, this grant will help support the operation of four CMTV Research Cores as well as establish a Pilot Project Grants Program

Dr. Jeremy Kamil, Rona Scott, and Jason Bodily were awarded NIH R01 research grants on HCMV tropism, EBV epigenetics, and HPV regulation of transcription, respectively.

Dr. Andrew Yurochko's NIH R01 grant on HCMV pathogenesis was renewed.

Dr. Michelle Arnold was awarded a grant from the Louisiana Board of Regents.

Dr. Jeremy Kamil was awarded a two year Research Grant from the American Heart Association.

Dr. Matthew Woolard has been awarded a Pilot Project Grant from the Louisiana Clinical and Translational Science Center.

Dr. Jung Heon Kim has been awarded a Malcolm Feist Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Tod Guidry and Matthew Scott have been awarded Carroll Feist Predoctoral fellowships. Stephen DiGiuseppe (Carroll Feist Award), Stephen Cieply (Malcolm Feist Award), Christine Birdwell (Carroll Feist Award), Sami Dykes (Carroll Feist Award), Ashley Brummett (Ike Muslow Fellowship), and Donna Collins-McMillen (American Heart Association) are receiving continuing support. This brings to 7 the number of our students who are currently supported by fellowships.

Drs. Jeremy Kamil and Matthew Woolard have been awarded Intramural Research Grants.

Stephen DiGiuseppe won the Jason A. Cardelli award from the Feist-Weiller Cancer Center.

A recent study from the lab of Dr. Jeremy Kamil has attracted national attention (press release).

Meetings and Presentations:

Dr. Michelle Arnold and Dr. Lindy Lutz, a Postdoctoral Fellow in the Arnold laboratory, were selected for oral presentations at the 34th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Virology (ASV), July 11-15, 2015 in London, Ontario. Dr. Arnold was also invited to chair the workshop on Rotaviruses. 

Appointments and Service:

Dr. Lindsey Hutt-Fletcher was elected Chairperson of DNA Virus section of the American Society for Microbiology.

Dr. Lindsey Hutt-Fletcher was made an Associate Editor of PLoS Pathogens.

Dr. Andrew Yurochko was selected to serve on the American Heart Association Steering Committee.


Dr. Ikuo Tsunoda's laboratory recently published papers in Cellular Immunology and Journal of Neuroimmunology.

Dr.Seong Kim's laboratory recently published papers in Journal of Virology and Virus Research.