Graduate Student Distinguished Lecturers

In addition to the visits of guest seminar speakers and outside reviewers who evaluate the students' personal research proposal, an international leader in an area of Microbiology or Molecular Biology visits each year as the Graduate Student Distinguished Lecturer.  This scientist is selected and hosted by the students. In addition to presenting a formal research seminar, the Distinguished Lecturer interacts with the students and faculty informally at a reception and dinner.  Past Lecturers include:

1991-1992        Dr. Ed Harlow, Harvard University School of Medicine

1992-1993        Dr. Barry Bloom, Albert Einstein School of Medicine

1993-1994        Dr. Joseph Nevins, Duke University Medical Center

1994-1995        Dr. Diane Griffin, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

1995-1996        Dr. Neal Nathanson, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine

1996-1997        Dr. Roy Curtiss, III, Washington University, St. Louis. MO.

1997-1998        Dr. Patricia Spear, Northwestern University School of Medicine

1998-1999        Dr. Peter Doherty, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

1999-2000        Dr. Inder M. Verma, Salk Institute for Biol. Studies, La Jolla, CA

2000-2001        Dr. Harvey Lodish, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2001-2002        Dr. Peter K. Vogt, The Scripps Research Institute

2002-2003        Dr. Owen N. Witte, University of California at Los Angeles

2003-2004        Dr. John M. Coffin, Tufts University School of Medicine, Boston, MA

                          and Director, HIV Drug Resistance Prog, National Cancer Institute

2004-2005        Dr. Gary J. Nabel, Director, Vaccine Program, NIH

2005-2006        Dr. Mark J. Young, Montana State University

2006-2007        Dr. Hidde Ploegh, Whitehead Institute of Biomedical Research

2007–2008       Dr. James L. Van Etten, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

2008-2009        Dr. Angela Belcher, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2009-2010        Dr. R. John Collier, Harvard Medical School, Boston

2010-2011        Dr. Jonathan W. Yewdell, National Institute of Allergy and

                         Infectious Diseases, NIH

2011-2012        Dr. Ralph Isberg, Tufts University School of Medicine

2012-2013        Dr. Bernard Moss, National Institute of Allergy and

                         Infectious Diseases, NIH


2013-2014        Dr. Ann M. Arvin, Stanford University School of Medicine